How do we elect the President of India?

Geneva Matthews
July 17, 2017

Deka said two MLAs, Tarun Gogoi and Kamal Shing Narzary, will cast their votes in New Delhi.

"All the 228 MLAs in the electoral list cast their votes with special pens provided to them by 3.05 pm, nearly two hours before the polling to close", an Election Commission (EC) official told PTI.

Besides, rebel AIADMK leader and former Tamil Nadu chief minister O Panneerselvam, former school education minister, Pandiarajan and Semmalai, Congress legislature party leader KR Ramasamy were among those who cast their vote. Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan will also cast his vote from the Secretariat. West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool president Mamata Banerjee said all TMC lawmakers voted for the joint opposition candidate, Meira Kumar, in the presidential election to register their protest against "what is going on in the country". It asks them to use only EC-issued pens and warns that no whip or directive can be issued to party members to vote in favour of any candidate.

Ram Nath Kovind (left) and Meira Kumar. "All should vote following their conscience", he said. "A president never belongs to any party".

The NDA candidate has the support of non-NDA parties like All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Janata Dal- United (JD-U), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and independents.

Opposition presidential nominee Meira Kumar is likely to get the bulk of the votes polled in the state as she has the backing of the three main political forces - TMC, Congress and the CPI-M.

# Only members of the Parliament and State Assemblies can cast their votes to elect President of India. While two observers will be present in the Parliament House, one each will be deployed in the respective state assemblies.

Voting was held in 32 polling stations - one in Parliament House and rest one each in state legislative assemblies. These have been procured from Mysore Paints and and Varnish Limited, which is a supplier of indelible ink - popularly known as voter's ink - to the Election Commission (EC). The coloured papers will help determine the vote count based on value - the value of an MLA's vote depends on the population of the state they represent, while the value of an MP remains unchanged, which is 708.

Other reports by VideoGamingPros

Discuss This Article