Indonesia Signs Treaty on Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

Geneva Matthews
September 22, 2017

At the signing ceremony, UN Secretary-General António Guterres declared the treaty open for signature.

With the North Korean nuclear crisis looming large, 51 countries today lined up to sign a new treaty outlawing nuclear weapons that has been fiercely opposed by the United States and other nuclear powers.

The treaty was approved by a 122-1 margin on July 7, but 40 nations, including all nine nuclear-armed powers, boycotted the vote. The treaty prohibits the development, testing, production, manufacturing, or possession of nuclear explosive devices.

The treaty will enter into force 90 days after 50 countries have signed, ratified and accepted it.

The fact that it was approved by 122 countries and signed by almost 50 yesterday demonstrates "significant maturity on the part of most of the countries of the world, who will be the first victims of a nuclear holocaust", the president said.

The decision to sign the treaty shows Nepal's commitment towards the achievement of a world free from the threat posed by nuclear weapons, the spokesperson said.

The Belgian Coalition against Nuclear Weapons deplored, in a press release, the Belgian stand on the issue, calling on the country to review its position, sign the text, and send back U.S. nuclear weapons stored in the Kleine-Brogel base in Limburg.

Mr. Guterres said that the life will be hard in future if we allowed such threatening weapons in possession of various countries as this will put the future of our children in great danger.

"The more the Australian people know that our government is not representing us on this, the easier it's going to be to get them to take this treat seriously".

This treaty is a strong categorical prohibition of nuclear weapons and is really rooted in humanitarian law.

"Nuclear arms offer a false sense of security", the archbishop said. But calling upon North Korea to act within a framework that deals with eliminating the nuclear weapons of all nations, rather than one that prohibits only the nuclear weapons of North Korea, might provide a useful path forward.

Till now 50 countries have signed the treaty.

Peter Maurer, the president of the International Committee of the Red Cross, also participated in the ceremony.

Meanwhile, the Russian Foreign Ministry said that Moscow would not ratify the nuclear weapons ban treaty as it runs counter to the country's national interests.

Of the 44 States, China, Iran, United States, Egypt and Israel have signed the treaty but not yet ratified it. DPRK, India and Pakistan have not signed it. The signing took place during the High Level Ceremony for the opening of the signing of the Treaty.

The assembly was part of the Peace Wave 2017 campaign, in which citizens start a chain of movements from Japan in hopes of realizing a peaceful world free of nuclear weapons.

Other reports by VideoGamingPros

Discuss This Article