Sri Lanka commits to Lahore T20I despite reluctance from players

Geneva Matthews
October 18, 2017

The first two games of the series will be played in the United Arab Emirates which remains the adapted home of Pakistan.

Sri Lanka's cricket board Tuesday halved a six-match ban imposed on all-rounder Danushka Gunathilaka for misconduct, amid speculation several players may drop out of an upcoming Twenty20 series final in Pakistan. He has been a part of Pakistan's squad for the ongoing ODIs against Sri Lanka.

Accordingly, the 15-member squad will be announced on 20 October.

"SLC have over the past two months conducted a thorough evaluation with the assistance of the government of Sri Lanka, government of Pakistan, PCB and independent security experts", the SLC release said.

But Sri Lanka were similarly found wanting with the bat and, despite Upul Tharanga replicating Babar's heroics by racking up an unbeaten 112, it was not enough to rescue a result for his side.

The Sri Lankan cricket team had come under attack from terrorists in March 2009 in Lahore.

The first two T20Is will be played Abu Dhabi, before the teams move to Lahore to play the much-anticipated final game on October 29. Hashan Thilakaratne (batting coach), Rumesh Ratnayake (bowling coach), Asanka Gurusinha (manager) and Nic Pothas (head coach) are all willing to tour Lahore after head coach Mickey Arthur spoke to them, a source in the PCB confirmed to The Express Tribune.

The report also added that from the current squad playing the ODI series in UAE, only four Sri Lankan players - Thisara Perera, Dishad Munaweera, Ashan Priyanjan, Isuru Udana - have agreed to tour Pakistan, as of now.

But a World XI squad comprising 13 players from seven top cricket-playing nations played in Lahore last month, with Pakistan hoping the visit would help end years of worldwide isolation.

Other reports by VideoGamingPros

Discuss This Article