The Game Awards 2017 Winner Is Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Kristi Paul
December 10, 2017

We knew it was coming out sometime before the end of the year, but Nintendo still managed to surprise people and release The Champions' Ballad without any warning.

Though fanboys like to make it out like Nintendo, Sony, and Microsoft are all enemies, this is undoubtedly not the truth.

Winners in most of the show's categories were decided through a vote split 90/10 between The Game Awards' jury and TGA website visitors.

While accepting the Game of the Year award, game director Hidemaro Fujibayashi said, "I'm really happy I ended up making games".

Fans were treated to several "big reveals", including teasers for Bayonetta 3 (which will be a Nintendo Switch exclusive), a video game adaptation of World War Z (Saber Interactive), and Death Stranding, the much-anticipated title from Kojima that features the voice of actor Norman Reedus. In addition, the critically acclaimed Bayonetta 2 game, originally a Wii U exclusive, will be launching for Nintendo Switch on February 16.

The DLC will also grant access to nine new armour items for players to find as well as the Ancient Saddle and Bridle items. The second DLC pack is now available for The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, available as part of the Expansion Pass.

Those who purchase the game's Expansion Pass will get three new treasure chests that appear in the game's Great Plateau area. It beat games like Horizon Zero Dawn, Persona 5, PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds, and family favorite Super Mario Odyssey. Earlier in the year they saw a fantastic launch of their new gaming system The Nintendo Switch.

In addition, some of the games that were nominated for awards this year are from franchises featured in the Cyber Deals sale now featured in Nintendo eShop and at

Other reports by VideoGamingPros

Discuss This Article